“No more let sin and sorrow grow . . .” In which I don’t post the most objectionable thing I’ve ever written

I wrote a little piece about how much I dislike the fighting over what to call Christmas. It was inspired by my reading a review of Sarah Palin’s so-called Christmas book which begins, apparently, with her story of buying her husband a gun for a present last Christmas right after the tragedy of Sandy Hook. She bought it as an act of “civil disobedience” because of the anti-gun talk coming from Washington at that time.

So Christmas is now the Feast of the Incarnation With Guns.

I’m not going to post the mean, cruel, and vituperative piece I wrote.

Return_of_the_Prodigal_Son_-_Google_Art_ProjectRead my post about depression. I will not be depressed this Christmas any more than that undercurrent of depression I carry with me all the time.

But I do want to say this. Why is everyone in this country so determined to be mean to everyone else these days? Especially in the name of religion? or capitalism–which for too many people seem to be synonymous.

For God’s sake. If I can try to spread a little joy, why can’t the rest of you–the ones who don’t need Prozac and Lamictal? What the fuck is wrong with us, anyway? I was going to put a photo of Da Vinci’s “Madonna and Child” I took at the Hermitage this summer in St. Petersburg. I decided the Rembrandt “Return of the Prodigal Son” (which I also saw there) would be more appropriate. It shows both the profligate son and the self-righteous brother.

Merry Christmas.

No more let sin and sorrow grow
Nor thorns infest the ground
He comes to make His blessings flow
Far as the curse is found
Far as the curse is found
Far as, far as the curse is found

He rules the world with truth and grace
And makes the nations prove
The glories of His righteousness
And wonders of his love
And wonders of his love
And wonders and wonders of his love

2 Responses to “No more let sin and sorrow grow . . .” In which I don’t post the most objectionable thing I’ve ever written

  1. Paul Frindt says:

    Harold, I’ve been listening to your posted renditions of Christmas tunes, and they bring back vividly just how much I enjoyed your playing, and your and Anne’s friendship, way back when at Christchurch. I read your blog regularly, and am pleased to see that you are still full of piss and vinegar, and that you haven’t left the battle (for what? I don’t know — meaning? dignity? joy?all of the above and more).
    So joy to you, old friend, this Christmas, and I hope for still many more to come for us all.
    With affection for happinesses shared, Paul

  2. Raven~ says:

    Harold, I keep coming back to this post.
    You embody paradox … yeah, it’s a hard ride

    The Prodigal, and The Good Thief are most appropriate

    Remember us, O Lord, when You come into your Kingdom

Leave a Reply

