I’m sick and tired of hearing people talk about “entitlements” and other obfuscations of reality and morality –such as their irrational hatred of the Affordable Care Act

Is this reprobate giving back his Social Security check every month?

Is this reprobate giving back his Social Security check every month? Oh, and by the way, as an example of his generosity, did you know he sued his brothers to gyp them out of their inheritance?

** Please see the NYT link at the end.

I don’t want to hear that my Social Security check or my use of Medicare is an “entitlement”—especially hear it with that sneer that our ridiculous politicians and some of my Republican friends plant on their upper lips when they say it.

I’ve been paying into SS since I was 12, and I deserve the modicum of return on my investment that I’m getting.  And I’ve been paying into Medicare since it was established.

DON’T TELL ME ABOUT ENTITLEMENTS. OR AT LEAST BRING YOUR NOSE DOWN OUT OF THE AIR AND GET REAL!

The politicians who sneer at entitlements are – in case you hadn’t noticed – totally incompetent. They are a bunch of losers that somehow we have been bribed and hoodwinked into electing (if you voted for a Tea Bagger, don’t complain to me when you discover that you don’t get to start SS until you’re 80).

We have no one but ourselves to blame. But don’t you – if you want to remain my friend – use the word “entitlement” in my presence,

He's so incompetent he doesn't deserve any of the multiple pensions he will be given.

He’s so incompetent he doesn’t deserve any of the multiple pensions he will be given.

EVER.

If you use the word, you are implying (no, saying outright) that my 56 years of work is not worth the paltry $1350 a month I get from SS. If it’s not, it’s because the geniuses who have shut down the government for the last week through their own selfishness and incompetence (especially the newest members of the lot) have managed my “contributions” badly.

Can you tell I’m furious. This whole business is a crock of shit. I mean that literally. I am not swearing. The shutdown of the government is fecal matter. And the Republicans, especially but not exclusively, ought to be ashamed of themselves.

STOP PLAYING YOUR STUPID POLITICAL GAMES WITH MY FUTURE – WHAT’S LEFT OF IT. IDIOTS, ONE AND ALL.
New York Times

CARTER

8 Responses to I’m sick and tired of hearing people talk about “entitlements” and other obfuscations of reality and morality –such as their irrational hatred of the Affordable Care Act

  1. Mary Kalen Romjue says:

    I CONCUR!!!

  2. bobritzema says:

    But you actually do have an entitlement–payments that your years of work and contributions entitle you to receive. It is an oddity of our current political climate that people use the word “entitlement” to imply its opposite–something that one is not entitled to.

  3. Pingback: The real story of the “shutdown” | Sumnonrabidus's Blog

  4. Karen says:

    You are forced to pay into SS, so you’re entitled to it (unless you want to write off your payments as a charitable contribution.) I know I’ll have to do that; there won’t be any SS by the time I retire!

    The diff with the word ‘entitlements’ is between those who pay into the system and those who don’t pay into it, and never have, but just TAKE. Considering how enormous the burden is getting, people are tired of working and being taxed and supporting people who could work, but don’t.

    • You mean, of course, the people who take but don’t pay in like all of the corporations — Apple computers comes to mind — who have take their “corporate headquarters” to, for instance, Ireland, so they pay no taxes at all.

      I’m afraid you’ve been hoodwinked. SS will still be around when you retire. Who are these people who don’t pay into it and just TAKE? Do you know such person. Name, address, phone number. I thought not.

  5. Jim Anon says:

    As a pejorative coined as a sexual act double entendre by people politically opposed to limited government, the term “teaba66er” is no less offensive than “fa66ot” or “ni66er” for how it is used.

    We should work to remove such language from any discussion or debate and to marginalize anyone who uses such terms. They are not productive in any way, shape or form, just as the users of the other pejoratives noted above are also marginalized.

    • Being a TeaBagger is a choice. A very bad and ridiculous choice. One’s race is not a choice, and my being — and referring to myself as — a faggot is not a choice.
      Your calling me a faggot is totally offensive. My calling myself a faggot is an ironic twist on others’ bigotry to which I have every right to respond with as much irony, even bitter irony, as I like. If, on the other hand, someone wants to espouse ideas that are absurd, they open themselves by choice to ridicule.

Leave a Reply

